Oshoala, Ighalo, Osimhen & Chukwueze Makes Final CAF Nomination List


Super Eagles’ Former Striker, Barcelona’s Asisat Oshoala, Villarreal’s Samuel Chukwueze and Osimhen are the only Nigerian representative who made the finalist of CAF yearly awards.

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) On Wednesday announced the 10 final nominees for the 2019 African Player of the Year award, cutting down the list from 30 nominees.

Afcon top goal scorer Odion Ighalo is the only Nigerian on the 10-man shortlists for the African Footballer of the Year Awards and he would be competing with other African stares, like Mane, Salah and Mahrez for the prestigious accolade. While three-time African Women's Footballer of the Year, Asisat Oshoala will be gunning for her fourth award after missing out in the 2018 edition to South African Thembi Kgatlana.

2015 CAF Youth Player of the Year, Victor Osimhen will be in contention for the Youth Player of the Year alongside super eagles teammate Samuel Chukwueze.

The Super Eagles Men’s National Team will be looking to unseat 2018 National Team of the Year Mauritania. The Super Eagles have managed to win this feat on three different occasions in 1993, 1994 and title-winning campaign in 2013.

The nominees for Player of the Year

André Onana (Cameroon & Ajax)
Hakim Ziyech (Morocco & Ajax)
Ismail Bennacer (Algeria & AC Milan)
Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal & Napoli)
Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)
Odion Ighalo (Nigeria & Shanghai Shenhua)
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Arsenal)
Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City)
Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)
Youcef Belaili (Algeria & Ahli Jeddah)