Genevieve, Others Join Oscar Academy

Top Stories

Nollywood actress, Genevieve Nnaji and Film director, Akin Omotoso, have been invited to be members of the 2020 class of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, the organization which hands out the Oscars.


This has accorded Nnaji and Omotoso the automatic right to vote for the Oscar winners for 10 years. 

In a statement released on Tuesday, The Academy has invited a total number of 819 artistes and executives who have distinguished themselves by their contributions to theatrical motion pictures.

Other notable artists include Cynthia ErivoZendaya, Eva Longoria, John David Washington, Ladj Ly, Bernie Taupin, Matthew A. Cherry, Florence Pugh, and Awkwafina.

The academy also stated that if the 819 members accept the invites, agent members of the 2020 class will be allowed voting privileges at the upcoming Oscars. 

Other Nigerian filmmakers in the past have made the Academy membership list. 

In 2018, actress OmotolaJaladeEkeindeWunmiMosaku, Femi Odugbemi, and NgoziOnwurah were extended invites and they were also among artistes to determine winners of Oscar in 2019. 

Genevieve has expressed excitement about the development on her Twitter handle, she wrote, “I’m honoured to be a member of the family. Thank you.”

The 93rd edition of the Academy Awards, known as Oscar award, is scheduled to hold on April 25, 2021, and nominations will be announced on March 15, 2021.

Nnaji starred and directed in Lionheart, which was Nigeria's first-ever Oscar submission for a best international feature film in 2019.