Exclusive Reports

Mon, Jan

SIM Registration: FG Extend NIN Deadline For 6 Weeks

Tech Security

The Federal Government has yesterday extended the synchronization of the SIM card with the National Identity Number (NIN), to January and February 2021 for different categories of subscribers.

This was contained in a statement from the National Task Force on NIN and SIM registration, saying the federal Government has approved additional three weeks for those with NIN from December 30th, 2020 to January 19, 2021.

While those without NIN have been given additional six weeks from December 30, 2020, to February 9, 2021, to save Nigerians from the risk of blocking their SIM by individual service providers as earlier scheduled.

The National Identity Management Commission (NIMC) in their capacity has assured Nigerians that measures have been put in place to accommodate every Nigerian a full registration in compliance with social distancing so long as the use of face mask is still in force.

The statement partly reads; “The National Task Force on NIN and SIM Registration met today (yesterday). Resolutions reached the meeting include: that FG has approved three weeks extension for subscribers with NIN from December 30, 2020, to January 19; extended by six weeks extension for subscribers without NIN from December 30, 2020, to February 9, 2021.

The statement added, “NIMC has provided strategies to enable citizens to attend the registration in full compliance with COVID-19 protocols, particularly the use of facemasks which remains mandatory and maintenance of social distancing.

President Buhari enjoined Nigerians to corporate with the authorizing bodies while thanking them for their patience.

Meanwhile, the president also thanked the task force for carrying out the directive as required while advising Nigerians to take advantage of the extension to enroll them into the system, as USSD charges remain suspended.

The meeting was presided by the Minister for Communication and Digital Economy, Dr. Isa Ali pandemic with major stakeholders like chairmen- NCC, EVC-NCC, DG NITDA, DG-NIMC, ECTS/ECSM-NCC, Chairman ALTON, CEOs of MTN, Airtel, Ntel, Glo, Smile, and 9Mpbile all in attendance.