Fri, Oct

INEC Redeploys RECs, Directors

Top News

The Independent National Electoral Commission announced on Sunday the redeployment of five Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs) and four directors.

This was disclosed in a statement titled “Redeployment of five RECs and four directors” by INEC’s National Commissioner and Chairman (Information and Voter Education Committee), Mr. Festus Okoye. 

Okoye said, “In the new postings, the REC, Osun State, Olusegun Agbaje, has been redeployed to Ogun State. At the same time, his counterpart in Ogun State, Prof. Abdulganiyu Olayinka Raji, will take charge as REC, Osun State. 

“In the same vein, the REC, Bayelsa State, Dr. Cyril Omorogbe, will take up his new role as the REC for Cross River State, while Dr. Emmanuel Alex Hart proceeds to Bayelsa State as the REC from his former office in Cross River State. 

“The REC, Zamfara State, Dr. Asmau Sani Maikudi, has also been redeployed to Kaduna State.” 

According to reports, Nick Dazang, Director (Voter Education and Publicity) has proceeded on terminal leave while Victor Ayodele Aluko has been appointed as Director (Voter Education and Publicity). 

Mikah Thabbal Lakumna, Director (Security) has been redeployed to Administration and Nduh Lebari Samson has been reassigned as Director (Security). Yakubu Mohammed Duku, Director (Electoral Operations) would proceed to Niger State as substantive Administrative Secretary. 

He said, “The handing/taking over activities should be completed by Monday, September 13, 2021. The redeployments are part of the commission’s routine administrative postings.”