Exclusive Reports

Tue, Jun

President Approves Appointment Of 18 Judges For Court Of Appeal

Top News

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the appointment of 18 new Justices for the Court of Appeal. The Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN) and Chairman of the National Judicial Council (NJC), Justice Tanko Ibrahim Muhammad had earlier made the recommendation to the president in March.

The Chief of staff to the president, Ibrahim Gambari disclosed that the president has given his approval in a letter addressed to the CJN.

The letter reads, "I am pleased to advise you, that pursuant to section 237 and section 238 of the 1999 constitution, his excellency, Mr. President has approved the appointment of the following jurists as Justices of the court of appeal, subject to their official seniority at the bench.

"Kindly advise the newly appointed Justices of the Court of Appeal accordingly, and, also, extend to their lordships, our best wishes on their appointment. Please accept the assurances of my highest regards."

Below is the list of the names of the new appointees as follows:

Bature Isah Gafai

Waziri Abdul-Azeez

Muhammad Ibrahim Sirajo

Usman Musale

Abba Bello Mohammed

Yusuf Alhaji Bashir

Mohammed Lawal Abubakar

Jauro Ibrahim Wakili

Hassan Muslim Sule

Amadi Kenneth Ikechukwu

Peter Oyinkenimiemi Affen

Sybil Onyeji Nwaka Gbagi

Banjoko Adebukunola Adeoti Ibironke

Olasumbo Olanrewaju Goodluck

Bola Samuel Ademola

Olabode Abimbola Adegbehingbe