Edo Decide: Anxiety High As 1.7m Electorates Set To Cast Their Votes

Top News

Over 1.7million eligible voters will today (Sept 19, 2020) decide the person that will stir the affairs of Edo state in the next four years. Accordingly, the stage is set between the incumbent Governor Godwin Obaseki of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and Pastor Ize-Iyamu of the All Progressive Congress (APC) and 12 others from other political parties would also participate in the race.

Although there are 14 candidates struggling to take over the government house, however, all eyes seem to be on the two gladiators who are the PDP candidate, the incumbent governor, and the APC, candidate Ize-Iyamu.

Source had it that of the 2,210,534 of the registered voters in the state, about 483,769 of voters could not claim their permanent voters' card (PVC) and by implication cannot participate in the voting process.

Therefore, the winner of today’s election will be determined by 1,726,765 PVCs that were collected, according to the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The INEC Chairman, Prof. Mahmud Yakubu disclosed that the voting process will take place in 2,627 pooling units across the 192 wards in the 18 Local Government areas of the state.

Meanwhile, others candidates who are also participating in the process from other political parties are; Obhafuoso Paul of Action Alliance (AA), Akhigbe B. Ehiabhi of African Democratic Congress (ADC), Ibio Emmanuel of Action Democratic Party (ADP), Lucky Osagie Idehen of All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), Igbineweka Osamuede of Allied Peoples Movement (APM) and Amos Osalumese Areloegbe, Action People’s Party (APP).

Others are; Osifo Uhun-Ekpenma Isaiah of Labour Party (LP), Agolebun Tracy of New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP), Stevie Nash Ozono of National Rescue Movement (NRM), Felix Ikezor Obayangbon of Social Democratic Party (SDP), Jones Osagiobare of Young Progressive Party (YPP) and Akhalamhe Amiemenoghena of Zenith Labour Party (ZLP).

Recall in the 2016 governorship election in Edo state, Obaseki was the then-candidate of the APC, and he defeated Ize-lyamu of the PDP. Obaseki polled 319,483 votes, representing 52 percent of the votes cast while Ize-lyamu scored 253,173, representing 41 percent.

Both candidates have at this time switched platforms in today’s election.