Exclusive Reports

Tue, Jan


The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, on Thursday, announced that the Ekiti State Governorship election will hold on July 14, 2018, while Osun State Governorship election will hold September 22, 2018. INEC also announced that campaigns for the various elections should commence from April 15 and June 24, 2018, respectively.

The announcements were made by INEC national commissioner, Solomon Soyebi. In an earlier interaction with national leaders of political parties on Wednesday in Abuja, INEC Chairman, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu disclosed that the commission will soon register more political parties.


According to Yakubu, the commission will take a decision on pending political associations requesting to be registered as political parties by November. "As I speak with you, the Commission has over 108 political associations seeking fresh registration. We want to assure all the associations that the Commission will register those that met the legal requirements. They should take that for granted on the Commission,” the INEC Chairman said.


He said 18 out of 46 registered political parties are yet to constitute their National Executive Committee (NEC) as required by the law.


“I want to draw your attention to the certain issues. The constitution is very clear on the processes and conditions for registration that must be complied with. Section 223 of the constitution talks about the validity of the composition of the political parties NEC. Unfortunately, out of the 46 registered political parties, only 28 parties are in compliance. 18 political parties have not complied”, he said.


Yakubu also expressed INEC displeasure over failure of some political parties to have functional offices in the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), as stipulated in Section 222 of the constitution.


“As we speak today, only 29 political parties are in compliance while 17 political parties have not. So, we have 17 political parties that have no offices in FCT or their rents have expired which amounts to the same thing as not having an office in FCT,” he said.


Yakubu also disclosed that only five parties have complied with the Electoral Act compelling political parties to submit election campaign expenses since the end of the 2015 general elections.


“Parties are expected to submit to the Commission their election campaign expenses for the 2015 general elections but as we speak only five political parties are in compliance. While 24 other political parties did not comply, the case of 17 parties is understandable because they are registered after the general elections. But for parties that contested the general elections, only five complied.”