Police Get 6 DIGs, 14 AIGs, Others - PSC


The Police Service Commission (PSC), has on 21st October 2019 approved the appointment of six Deputy Inspectors General of Police (DIGs) with two to proceed on pre-retirement leave. The revelation was made in a statement by the Head, Press and Public Relations of the Commission, Ikechukwu Ani in Abuja.


It disclosed that the remaining four are to replace the four retired DIGs and also form part of the IGPs Management team made up of seven DIGs.

The statement reads: “The new DIGs are; Abdul Dahiru Danwawu; Lawal Shehu; Adeyemi Samuel Ogunjemilusi; Peter Babatunde Ogunyanwo, all former AIGs and Alex Okpara and Celestine Okoye, former CPs.

DIG Ogunjemilusi and DIG Okpara are to proceed on pre-retirement leave.

The Commission also approved the promotion of 14 Commissioners of Police (CPs) to the next rank of Assistant Inspector General of Police (AIGs).

They are: Yunana Babas; Dan-Malam Mohammed; Mua’zu Zubairu Halilu; Rabiu Yusuf; Sanusi Nma Lemu; Ahmed Iliyasu; Mohammed Uba Kura; Zaki M. Ahmed; and Gwandu Haliru Abubakar.

Other new AIGs are: Zama Bala Senchi, presently CP, Jigawa State Command; Bello A. Sadiq; Austin Iwero Agbonlahor; Lawan Ado, former CP, Kwara State Command and currently Commandant Police College, Kaduna and Bashir Makama.

The Commission also approved the promotion of 230 Superintendents of Police to Chief Superintendents, eleven Deputy Superintendents of Police to Superintendents and two hundred and eleven (211) Assistant Superintendents to Deputy Superintendents.

Forty-one Inspectors were also promoted to ASP 1.

Mr Smith Muslim, the Chairman of the Commission revealed that they will continue to closely monitor the performance of these Officers and enjoined them to rededicate themselves to the service of their fatherland.

He reiterated that promotion in the Force will continue to be based on merit, seniority and availability of vacancies.