Exclusive Reports

Tue, Jun

COVID 19: Nigeria Bans Passengers From Brazil, India and Turkey

Top News

The Federal Government has announced that foreigners who recently traveled to Brazil, India, and Turkey would be denied entry into Nigeria starting from Tuesday 4th May 2021. This was disclosed by the Secretary to the Federation (SGF) and the Presidential Steering Committee on COVID 19, Mr. Boss Mustapha.

Mustapha said this decision was because of the global surge in COVID 19 cases and a four-week interim travel restriction would be imposed on Brazil, India, and Turkey due to the deadly variants of COVID 19 found in these countries.

The SGF said: "The Presidential Steering Committee on COVID 19 after due consideration has therefore approved the implementation of the following measures: Reduction of the validity period of pre-boarding COVID-19 PCR test for Nigeria-bound passengers from 96 hours to 72 hours. Henceforth PCR test results older than 72 hours before departure shall not be accepted.

"Non-Nigerian passport holders and non-residents who visited Brazil, India, or Turkey within 14 days preceding to Nigeria shall be denied entry into Nigeria. This regulation, however, does not apply to passengers who transited through these countries.

"Nigerians and those with a permanent residence permit who visited Brazil, India, or Turkey within 14 days preceding travel to Nigeria shall be made to undergo 7 days of mandatory quarantine in a government approved facility at the point-of-entry city and the passenger would bear the cost."

Travelers with fake PCR tests would be quarantined at their own cost and a fine of $3,500 would be issued to any airline involved in transporting any violating passenger.

Nigerians are also advised to avoid non-essential international travel, especially to countries with high levels of new COVID 19 cases and deaths.