Mon, Sep

Beyonce Features Yemi Alade, Burna Boy, Wizkid, Mr Eazi, Others in Lion King Album


American singer, Beyonce Knowles has featured six Nigerian musicians alongside others in her much anticipated 'The Lion King: The Gift' album, which is the companion soundtrack for the 2019 Disney live-action movie remake of the Lion King animation.


She confirmed the collaborations with African sensations and other details of the album in an interview with ABC's Robin Roberts, saying she wanted the soundtrack to be a love letter to Africa.

The singer added that collaborating with Africa's best artistes rather than using their sounds showed the authenticity and beauty of the continent, noting that real African chants and beats were used mixed with sounds by American producers to create a new genre.

She said, "Each song was written to reflect the film’s storytelling that gives the listener a chance to imagine their own imagery while listening to a new contemporary interpretation".

The Nigerian artistes include Yemi Alade, Wizkid, Burna Boy, Tiwa Savage, Mr Eazi, and Tekno. Also, Ghana's Shatta Wale, Cameroon's Salatiel, South Africa's Busiswa and Moonchild Sanelly were featured in the album.

Other artistes include Husband Jay-Z, Kendrick Lamar, Daughter Blue Ivy Carter, Childish Gambino, Tierra Whack, St. JHN, and 070 Shake.

The Lion King: The Gift Album Tracklist is as follows;
Beyoncé, “Bigger”

Beyoncé, “Find Your Way Back (Circle of Life)”
Tekno / Yemi Alade /Mr Eazi, “Don’t Jealous Me”
Burna Boy, “Ja Ara E”

Beyoncé / Kendrick Lamar, “The Nile”

Beyoncé / JAY-Z / Childish Gambino, “Mood 4 Eva”

Salatiel / Pharrell / Beyoncé, “Water”

Blue Ivy Carter / SAINt JHN / WizKid / Beyoncé, “Brown Skin Girl”

Tiwa Savage /Mr Eazi, “Keys to the Kingdom”

Beyoncé, “Otherside”

Beyoncé / Shatta Wale, “Already”

Tierra Whack / Beyoncé / Busiswa / Yemi Alade / Moonchild Sanelly, “My Power”

070 Shake / Jessie Reyez, “Scar”

Beyoncé, “Spirit”